Iowa Medicaid Drug Utilization Review Commission

Iowa Medicaid Drug Utilization Review Commission

Annual Call for New Commission Members

The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1990 require(s) state Medicaid programs to have a drug utilization review (DUR) program consisting of prospective DUR, retrospective DUR, and an educational program. The membership of the DUR Board shall include health care professionals who have recognized knowledge and expertise in one or more of the following: 1) The clinically appropriate prescribing of covered outpatient drugs; 2) The clinically appropriate dispensing and monitoring of covered outpatient drugs; 3) Drug use review, evaluation, and intervention; 4) Medical quality assurance. The goal of the DUR program is to ensure appropriate medication therapy, while permitting appropriate professional judgment to individualize medication therapy.

In Iowa, the DUR Board is referred to as the Iowa Medicaid DUR Commission. The Iowa DUR Commission is comprised of four Iowa Licensed physicians and four Iowa Licensed pharmacists who serve up to two, four-year terms, as well as a representative from the Department of Human Services (DHS) and a representative from one Managed Care Organization. The Commission meets on the first Wednesday four months of the year (August, November, March, and May) in Des Moines. Meetings are scheduled from 9:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. The Iowa DUR Commission is a recommending body to the DHS on drug therapy including proDUR, drug prior authorization, coverage of medications and administrative and billing procedures.

The DUR Commission is currently seeking a Physician who serve Medicaid members to join the committee. Any Physician interested in serving in this capacity should send a resume or curriculum vitae, as well as a letter indicating their interest to Pamela Smith at the email address shown below. Candidates that would like more information about the Commission or who would like to speak to a present Commissioner are encouraged to call.

Term: SFY 21 through SFY 24

Pamela Smith, R.Ph.
DUR Project Coordinator
Iowa Medicaid Drug Utilization Review Commission
611 5th Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309
(515) 974-3131

Public Comment Policy

Individuals attending meetings of the DUR Commission shall have an opportunity to address the Commission. This opportunity will be granted once during the open portion of the meeting. In order to accommodate all interested parties, all speakers are requested to limit their comments to 5 minutes or less. If you represent a drug manufacturer as an employee, as a contractor, as a member of the manufacturer's Speaker Bureau, or by any other means, we expect you to cover your individual product or entire product line in that five-minute time frame. Speakers who represent multiple manufacturers will share their 5 minutes with the other manufacturer representative(s) whose product they are speaking on. Multiple representatives from a single organization will also be required to share the 5 minutes.

Data that is to be referenced during the Public Comment period(s) should be limited to published, peer reviewed literature only. “Data on file” and “articles submitted for review” are not considered published, peer reviewed literature and should not be referenced during public testimony.

All referenced data that is to be presented should be submitted to the DUR professional staff electronically to AT LEAST ONE WEEK PRIOR TO THE MEETING DATE for consideration and distribution to the Commission members. The deadline is 4:30 P.M. CT Wednesday, before the scheduled meeting date. Anything submitted to the DUR professional staff after this deadline will be distributed to the Commission members for the next scheduled DUR meeting.

Submit written comments to All public comment submissions to this email address become public documents. No response will be provided to the submitted public comment. Hard copies of the comments are presented to the DUR Commission members at each meeting.

Recent Site Updates

New meeting information has been added.
A new DUR Digest has been added.

DUR Commission Members

  • Brett Faine, Pharm.D Chairperson.
  • Kellen Ludvigson, Pharm.D.Vice Chairperson
  • John Ellis, Pharm D.
  • Melissa Klotz, Pharm.D.
  • Jason Kruse, D.O.
  • Susan Parker, Pharm.D.
  • Emily Rogers, Pharm.D
  • Charles Wadle, D.O.
  • Jason Wilbur, M.D.

More information

Professional Staff

  • Pam Smith, R.Ph. - DUR Project Coordinator